1759

Teaching Guide

The National Battlefields Commission, in collaboration with the Virtual Museum of Canada, is presenting 1759: From the Warpath to the Plains of Abraham, a new recreational/instructional virtual reality challenge. This exciting interactive adventure sends out net surfers to the year 1759 to let them relive, alongside the French, British, Canadians and Amerindians, the ups and downs of a fight to the finish for the conquest of America, an outstanding episode of the country’s military history.

The 1759 game highlights the actions of these two Empires, their repercussions on the colony’s inhabitants and the involvement of the Amerindians in this challenge of the utmost importance for the continent.  Four different visions beating to four different tunes. Let these visions guide you through all the crucial steps of this war: its background, preparations, the siege of Quebec and the battle of the Plains of Abraham. A clever mix of lively interactive games, of videos featuring the players of the period, illustrated narratives, evolutionary comic strips, period music, interactive maps… all sumptuously presented in settings that show in minute detail the intricacies of this troubled era. An engrossing virtual game intended for all audiences, at the centre of events and places, of customs and preparations of war.

In all, 67 activities (available in English and French) allowing net surfers to interact and actively participate in the game as it unfolds. Nearly three hours filled with fun and entertainment. The player can fill out a registration card to enrol (provided his or her size is consistent with strict army standards), discover where the regiments are from, read and print the genuine declaration of war made by France, understand the various alliances, listen to General James Wolfe and the Marquis de Montcalm explain why they are both convinced that they will land the victory, try to guess what combatants ate and what they did to pass the time, what weapons were used by Amerindians, find out how to dress a soldier properly, listen to four witnesses from the period give their account of the battle… all this illustrated with iconography and contemporary reconstruction, laced with ambient sound and music reproduced by re-enactment groups, the Fraser Highlanders on bagpipes and the Compagnie Franche de la Marine on fifes and drums. A glossary will be made available to fans who would like to learn a little more, and real enthusiasts can consult a comprehensive bibliography on the subject.

What will become of the participants after the battle of the Plains of Abraham is over? You can find out in the epilogue. But, above all, what you will understand is the strategy behind this conflict and the significant role played by each of these stakeholders, in other words, yourself!

Home    Site Map    Links    Credits    Glossary    Teaching Guide    Sources    EMail    Flash Version    Version française
© The National Battlefields Commission 2005

1759

Guide pédagogique

La Commission des champs de bataille nationaux (CCBN), en collaboration avec le Musée virtuel du Canada (MVC), présente 1759 : du sentier de la guerre aux plaines d'Abraham, un nouveau grand jeu virtuel ludoéducatif. Cette aventure interactive et passionnante projette l'internaute en 1759 pour participer et revivre aux côtés des Français, des Britanniques, des Canadiens et des Amérindiens les hauts et les bas d'une lutte à finir pour la conquête de l'Amérique, page marquante de l'histoire militaire du pays.

Le jeu 1759 met en relief les activités des armées de deux Empires, les contrecoups subis par les habitants de la colonie et les implications des Amérindiens dans cet enjeu primordial pour le continent. Quatre regards différents se déclinent en quatre temps. Suivez à travers eux toutes les étapes cruciales de cette guerre: le contexte, les préparatifs, le siège de Québec et la bataille des plaines d'Abraham. Un savant mélange de jeux interactifs et vivants, de vidéos mettant en scène des joueurs de l'époque, de narrations illustrées, de bandes dessinées évolutives, de musique d'époque, de cartes interactives… le tout somptueusement présenté dans des décors reprenant dans les moindres détails les subtilités de cette époque trouble. Une visite virtuelle captivante pour un public de tout âge au cœur des événements et des lieux, des coutumes et des préparatifs de cette guerre.

Au total, 67 activités (accessibles en français et en anglais) permettent d'interagir et de participer activement au déroulement du jeu. Près de trois heures de plaisir et de divertissement. L'internaute pourra ainsi remplir une fiche d'inscription pour s'enrôler (si sa taille respecte les normes strictes de l'armée), découvrir d'où viennent les régiments, lire et imprimer la véritable déclaration de guerre faite par la France, comprendre les différentes alliances, écouter le général James Wolfe et le marquis de Montcalm lui expliquer pourquoi chacun est persuadé de remporter la victoire, deviner la nourriture et les loisirs des combattants ainsi que les armes utilisées par les Amérindiens, habiller adéquatement un soldat, écouter quatre témoins de l'époque relater la bataille… le tout, illustré d'iconographies et de reconstitutions contemporaines, agrémenté de sons d'ambiance et de musique reproduite par des groupes de reconstitution historique: les Fraser Highlanders à la cornemuse et la Compagnie Franche de la Marine aux fifres et tambours. Un glossaire permettra aux amateurs d'en connaître un peu plus et les fervents pourront consulter une bibliographie des plus complètes sur le sujet.

Qu'adviendra-t-il des participants après la bataille des plaines d'Abraham? Vous le découvrirez dans l'épilogue. Mais vous y comprendrez surtout toute la stratégie derrière ce conflit et le rôle important joué par chacun de ces intervenants, c'est-à-dire vous!

Accueil   Plan du site   Liens   Crédits   Glossaire   Guide pédagogique   Sources   Courriel   Version Flash   English Version
© Commission des champs de bataille nationaux 2005